Discuss football with over 60,000 fans. Free Membership. Join now!

 FAQFAQ  RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

FootballsFuture.com Forum Index
FootballsFuture.com Home

Official FF Technology Thread #2
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 30, 31, 32 ... 71, 72, 73  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    FootballsFuture.com Forum Index -> This aint sports talk!
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
PatriotsWin!


Joined: 10 Jan 2007
Posts: 18455
PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I've never replaced a PSU before (in fact I've only ever replaced a hard drive, twice) but I'm sure i can do it. Doesn't look that hard. If anything, I can use youtube as my guide Smile

I'm going to test out the PC first tho (it hasn't arrived yet) and if it's fast enough without a video card I will just hold off the upgrade. Well until I decide I want to play PC games (doubt it, but I never know...)
_________________

Mack on the sig
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theJ


Moderator
Joined: 20 Mar 2005
Posts: 19087
PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PatriotsWin! wrote:
Well I've never replaced a PSU before (in fact I've only ever replaced a hard drive, twice) but I'm sure i can do it. Doesn't look that hard. If anything, I can use youtube as my guide Smile

I'm going to test out the PC first tho (it hasn't arrived yet) and if it's fast enough without a video card I will just hold off the upgrade. Well until I decide I want to play PC games (doubt it, but I never know...)


It's not hard. The end connectors are all keyed and looked completely different. You can't screw it up. It's as easy as plugging the lamp into the 110V recepticle and the oven into the 220V recepticle.

The only tricky part is making sure you get the correctly sized PSU.

I'd recommend trying the PC without the video card for a while. If it works fine for your needs, go with it. If it doesn't, then buy. I'd think that built in card would work just fine though.
_________________


Don't follow your passion, take your passion with you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
incognito_man


Joined: 11 Jan 2007
Posts: 31662
Location: Madison
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2012 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

alright FFers, I have a question for you tech-heads...

I'm looking to set up a home network system soon here and was wondering what everyone has for suggestions.

My main goal is to have a main storage hub for all media and being able to stream it to my main tv (which is where my HTPC is certainly set up), to a future tv in the bedroom and all our laptops, mobile devices.

Just wondering what you would suggest I use. I'm kinda of debating between going for an apple system or sticking with a PC system which I have components for right now.

Also would maybe think about including exterior speakers at some point and would like to be able to control everything with my (soon to buy) smart phone.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boondock


Moderator
Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 21259
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2012 10:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

incognito_man wrote:
alright FFers, I have a question for you tech-heads...

I'm looking to set up a home network system soon here and was wondering what everyone has for suggestions.

My main goal is to have a main storage hub for all media and being able to stream it to my main tv (which is where my HTPC is certainly set up), to a future tv in the bedroom and all our laptops, mobile devices.

Just wondering what you would suggest I use. I'm kinda of debating between going for an apple system or sticking with a PC system which I have components for right now.

Also would maybe think about including exterior speakers at some point and would like to be able to control everything with my (soon to buy) smart phone.


A lot of this depends on your budget. I did something similar using a NAS made for home users, QNAP makes some quality NAS (network attached storage). I bought this for around $700 including drives. The price can go up or down depending on what type of drives you buy and the size of the said drives. This would be your main storage hub. The good thing about the NAS is that it allows for built in redundancy of drives, for instance if you build a RAID1, you can lose a hard drive and still function normally.

Before you spend a lot of time checking out exterior speakers, check out Sonos speakers. They are speakers that have built in wireless to them. You can connect to your library or you can connect to music services like Pandora, Slacker, etc. I am looking to do this very thing. They have an app to control the speakers. Also, it will sync up with the NAS I mentioned above.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mossburg


Most Valuable Poster (4th Ballot)
Joined: 02 Jan 2005
Posts: 43510
Location: Straight Cash Inc. Headquarters
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

incognito_man wrote:
alright FFers, I have a question for you tech-heads...

I'm looking to set up a home network system soon here and was wondering what everyone has for suggestions.

My main goal is to have a main storage hub for all media and being able to stream it to my main tv (which is where my HTPC is certainly set up), to a future tv in the bedroom and all our laptops, mobile devices.

Just wondering what you would suggest I use. I'm kinda of debating between going for an apple system or sticking with a PC system which I have components for right now.

Also would maybe think about including exterior speakers at some point and would like to be able to control everything with my (soon to buy) smart phone.


It'll be much cheaper to just buy a massive hard drive or two, put them in your main rig, and just network share everything from there. If you PC stays on most of the time, then there's no issue.

I was actually about to buy a network bay and hook it up to my router, but went the route I just described because it cost me nothing more than the price of the hard disk. I share everything to various rooms through various devices.

BTW, is this going to be wired or wireless?
_________________
Equal Opportunity Hater

"There are three kinds of lies: lies, damned lies, and statistics." -Mark Twain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iPwn


Global Moderator
Joined: 10 Oct 2009
Posts: 46326
Location: Warbortles Nation
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 1:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mossburg wrote:
It'll be much cheaper to just buy a massive hard drive or two, put them in your main rig, and just network share everything from there. If you PC stays on most of the time, then there's no issue.


A lot of routers will allow you to do the same thing, that way you don't ever need a main computer on. You just plug them into the router and they're almost plug-and-play without having to set anything up.
_________________

- Best since day one -
The road to success is always under construction - Gus Bradley
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mossburg


Most Valuable Poster (4th Ballot)
Joined: 02 Jan 2005
Posts: 43510
Location: Straight Cash Inc. Headquarters
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

iPwn wrote:
Mossburg wrote:
It'll be much cheaper to just buy a massive hard drive or two, put them in your main rig, and just network share everything from there. If you PC stays on most of the time, then there's no issue.


A lot of routers will allow you to do the same thing, that way you don't ever need a main computer on. You just plug them into the router and they're almost plug-and-play without having to set anything up.


I have a router with a USB port, I am not sure though if the HD stays on all the time or turns off when you're not using. I'm gonna experiment with that soon, because I wouldn't want to have an external HD running all the time. You're also limited to the space of an external HD, where as you can stack various HDs into your PC.

I've considered all the options for this. The network server bays seem to be the coolest and most convenient way to go, but there are just too many cons: they're expensive, they can hold limited storage, a lot of user reviews suggest various technical issues especially for the lower end ones which still cost in the 100s. It's just flat out not worth the price IMO.

The best and most reliable thing to do is set up a network share on a desktop.
_________________
Equal Opportunity Hater

"There are three kinds of lies: lies, damned lies, and statistics." -Mark Twain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
incognito_man


Joined: 11 Jan 2007
Posts: 31662
Location: Madison
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 11:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mossburg wrote:


It'll be much cheaper to just buy a massive hard drive or two, put them in your main rig, and just network share everything from there. If you PC stays on most of the time, then there's no issue.

I was actually about to buy a network bay and hook it up to my router, but went the route I just described because it cost me nothing more than the price of the hard disk. I share everything to various rooms through various devices.

BTW, is this going to be wired or wireless?


wired would probably be fine, my main concern is being able to access it on both tv in living room where PC is and in bedroom.

Best bet just getting a media player for bedroom then? I'll probably wire that tv up to my cable box too anyway, so wired should be fine for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mossburg


Most Valuable Poster (4th Ballot)
Joined: 02 Jan 2005
Posts: 43510
Location: Straight Cash Inc. Headquarters
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

incognito_man wrote:
Mossburg wrote:


It'll be much cheaper to just buy a massive hard drive or two, put them in your main rig, and just network share everything from there. If you PC stays on most of the time, then there's no issue.

I was actually about to buy a network bay and hook it up to my router, but went the route I just described because it cost me nothing more than the price of the hard disk. I share everything to various rooms through various devices.

BTW, is this going to be wired or wireless?


wired would probably be fine, my main concern is being able to access it on both tv in living room where PC is and in bedroom.

Best bet just getting a media player for bedroom then? I'll probably wire that tv up to my cable box too anyway, so wired should be fine for me.


Yup, get a simple media player with a network port and you're set. On a good sale, you can get a super solid one for $50. Or you can use an XBOX or PS3 if you have one to do the same.
_________________
Equal Opportunity Hater

"There are three kinds of lies: lies, damned lies, and statistics." -Mark Twain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
x0x


Joined: 10 Jul 2008
Posts: 15437
Location: Ontario, Canada
PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What's an affordable Video editing software for MP4 High Quality videos?


Adobe Premier works great for 1k footage but it's over $800 freaking dollars.


I need to be able to smoothly edit 1k footage with 4g of Ram.
_________________
Legends Never Die. They Breathe Through The New Generation.
100 Greatest Quarterbacks of All Time
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SoCalNiner


Moderator
Joined: 13 Nov 2007
Posts: 23099
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2012 12:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm hoping someone can help me with this. My wireless connection is pretty slow, so I tested in on speedtest and got a 2.15 Mbps download speed. Then I hooked it up directly via ethernet cable and it read 17.25 Mbps. That's a huge jump, and wanted to see what the reasoning could be. Is there a way to improve it?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrDrew


Global Moderator
Joined: 10 Apr 2008
Posts: 17993
Location: Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2012 12:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SoCalNiner wrote:
I'm hoping someone can help me with this. My wireless connection is pretty slow, so I tested in on speedtest and got a 2.15 Mbps download speed. Then I hooked it up directly via ethernet cable and it read 17.25 Mbps. That's a huge jump, and wanted to see what the reasoning could be. Is there a way to improve it?


Change the wireless channel on the router. Repair the wireless connection on the computer.
_________________


"I am a leaf on the wind... Watch how I soar"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theJ


Moderator
Joined: 20 Mar 2005
Posts: 19087
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2012 7:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MrDrew wrote:
SoCalNiner wrote:
I'm hoping someone can help me with this. My wireless connection is pretty slow, so I tested in on speedtest and got a 2.15 Mbps download speed. Then I hooked it up directly via ethernet cable and it read 17.25 Mbps. That's a huge jump, and wanted to see what the reasoning could be. Is there a way to improve it?


Change the wireless channel on the router. Repair the wireless connection on the computer.


Piggybacking on this, if you have a smart phone there's an app called "Wifi Analyzer" that can help you figure out which channel you should have your wifi set to. Most people never touch the channel, so if you live in a congested area everyone is split between two channels (3 and 11 maybe? can't remember...).

Changing to a different channel can help out enormously.
_________________


Don't follow your passion, take your passion with you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrDrew


Global Moderator
Joined: 10 Apr 2008
Posts: 17993
Location: Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2012 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

theJ wrote:
MrDrew wrote:
SoCalNiner wrote:
I'm hoping someone can help me with this. My wireless connection is pretty slow, so I tested in on speedtest and got a 2.15 Mbps download speed. Then I hooked it up directly via ethernet cable and it read 17.25 Mbps. That's a huge jump, and wanted to see what the reasoning could be. Is there a way to improve it?


Change the wireless channel on the router. Repair the wireless connection on the computer.


Piggybacking on this, if you have a smart phone there's an app called "Wifi Analyzer" that can help you figure out which channel you should have your wifi set to. Most people never touch the channel, so if you live in a congested area everyone is split between two channels (3 and 11 maybe? can't remember...).

Changing to a different channel can help out enormously.


1, 3, 6, and 11 are the common ones. Kismet is another program to use to see what everybody else is using. I personally use Channel 8, because nobody in the neighborhood was.
_________________


"I am a leaf on the wind... Watch how I soar"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hammertime52


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 10880
Location: South Jersey
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2012 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there an easy way to transport all the music from the itunes on my old laptop to my new one? (Neither are Macs if that helps)
_________________

Bird Watch: Mychal Kendricks
Tackles: 13 Sacks: 1 Interceptions: 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   

Post new topic   Reply to topic    FootballsFuture.com Forum Index -> This aint sports talk! All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 30, 31, 32 ... 71, 72, 73  Next
Page 31 of 73

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum




Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group